A-Levels Curriculum


A-Levels (Advanced Level qualifications) are a UK subject-based qualification for students aged 16 and above. They are usually studied over two years, leading to qualifications recognised for entrance to higher education institutes in the UK and many others worldwide.

The first year of study is known as AS (Advanced Subsidiary) Level and is a separate qualification. It is not considered on its own as adequate for university entrance but adds value to university applications.

Subject Options


There are no compulsory subjects with A Levels. Students are free to choose the topics that interest them the most or feel will benefit them for their future studies or careers. Students typically study three or four subjects.

The choices you make about what and where to study in the Sixth Form will have a significant bearing on your future life and career.

All SKIS students study:

Year 12:
• Four AS courses or
• Three AS courses & Extended Project Qualification (EPQ)

Year 13:
• Three A2s & Extended Project Qualifications (EPQ) or
• Three A2s & another AS or
• Four A2s from four AS

Subjects Offered


• Maths
• English (Language/Literature)
• Biology
• Physics
• Chemistry
• Economics
• Computer Science
• Geography
• History
• Chinese
• Music

Extended Project Qualification (EPQ)


The EPQ is a single component linear qualification.

Students undertake their Extended Project in the context of a project topic they have selected, in agreement with the centre. This qualification helps students develop and demonstrate their project management skills and provides opportunities for extended writing. (5000 word essay)

Students can tailor their project to fit their individual needs, choices and aspirations in consultation with teachers.